Evaluation and Reflection

Evaluation and Reflection:

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The visual communication of the piece meets the brief as it informs the reader about Japanese culture and mainly the Yakuza sub-culture present. From the images and text used the reader can find out about the Yakuza and some of their rituals and traditions and also how and when they were created. All of the images used have been used and edited to catch the eye of the reader as well as get them to read the article. The cover and inside spread have both been kept to look similar to the Creative Review layout and structure as well as incorporate some Japanese elements. All of the typefaces used have been researched so that they are relevant to the brief and are also instantly identifiable for the audience.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

The piece fails to meet the brief because there is no evidence of testing to see whether the visual messages will be understood by the appropriate audience; however that was difficult as not many people know of the Japanese organised crime group called the Yakuza.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

The Strengths of the piece are that because of the images the reader can instantly see visually the rituals and ceremonies used by the Yakuza and also a part of their sub-culture which is the full-body tattoos without reading any of the main article. The calligraphy used also adds another instant recognition for the reader, also the typefaces used are relevant and add structure and purpose to the piece.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

The weaknesses of the visual communication are that the front cover and the inside spread aren’t similar at all which could be confusing for the reader who looks at the cover and wants to find the article quickly, to change this I would alter the cover to make it similar to the inside spread.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

The piece could be mis-understood to be an article about Japanese tattoos instead of an organised crime syndicate because of the images present which could mean that the wrong audience read the article; even though the article is aimed at people who is either interesting in Japanese culture or organised crime syndicates in general.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

To improve the piece I would alter the cover so that it is more in-synch with the inside pages, I would also change the drop capital inside to a calligraphy style capital to add another element to the article so it looks more Japanese and I would alter the heading to the article so that it is positioned better using a more relevant typeface.

 2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

My time keep wasn’t good I kept leaving things to the last minute which didn’t help when I had problems with my layers collapsing into one on the final design so I couldn’t alter or position them more relevantly. I believe my time keeping is one of the key things that I need to improve on for the next brief and piece of work.

How was my analysis of the brief?

My analysis of the brief was good as I chose a subculture that was different to most other peoples as it didn’t have anything to do with music subculture which is what most people think of. My final designs met the brief well informing the audience about the relevant subculture; however I could not show the revival of the subculture as it is still prevalent today and hasn’t been dissolved since its creation.

How was my research?

My research was relevant to the subculture as well as magazine design; I evaluated multiple magazine layouts as well as researching relevant sources of information about the subculture. To improve my research I could have done some in-depth research into Creative Review such as how they lay out articles is their magazine as well as how they present their cover art.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

From my research of Japan, the Yakuza and magazine layout I decided to have an image cover one of the pages in the double page spread as well as have the text of the article only rise to two thirds the height of the page. Also the editing of images was influenced by research that I did also.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

For experimentation I tried using calligraphy to use on my piece which I found challenging and so resulted to a stencil; however this created an effect that I ended up using in the final piece because of its effectiveness. To make my experimentation more effective I could have tried other Japanese styles and layouts in my final design.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

From my research and the process of how I created the piece help me show how I am achieving the learning outcomes as it helps explain the reasons for the positioning and choices that I have done during this brief. To improve on this next time I will add these to my initial idea and development phases to help achieve the learning outcomes more.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most and least? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed them most the calligraphy part of my experimentation because I wanted one effect and kept trying to achieve it just to use the stencil in the end instead of the final calligraphy.

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?

I found the research difficult when I had to research magazine layouts because if found that all the magazines looked similar and so took inspiration from them but I found it boring as there were not many magazines that stood out.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I think I need to improve my software skills especially Photoshop and Indesign so that I won’t need as much help and can work more independently, these skills can be improved upon now so that I won’t struggle when achieving other briefs and learning outcomes.

Leave a Reply

