Evaluation and Reflection

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The visual communication of the piece meets the brief as it informs the reader about why I took the pictures in the text and what kind of photography that the pictures were taken in. From the images and text used the reader can find out about what the university student living and life can be like and some of the new responsibilities that will be taken up when living at university. All of the images used have been used and edited to catch the eye of the reader as well as get them to read the article. The inside spread have both been kept to look similar to add structure and link the pages together. All of the typefaces used have been researched so that they are relevant to the brief and are also easy to read for the audience.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

The piece fails to meet the brief because there is no evidence of testing to see whether the visual messages will be understood by the appropriate audience; however that was difficult as not many people know from the images that the environment was a university house.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

The Strengths of the piece are because of the images the reader can instantly see visually the environment of student life in university and what that entails. The type face used also adds to the visual communication as it is easy for the reader to read. The structure of the piece adds to the visual communication because the two pages can be instantly noted as being about the same article because of the text structure. The colours also are the same on each page so they can be linked together as well as the sell and text are positioned in the same area so they will link together also.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

The weaknesses of the visual communication are that the images I used were the best images I had to use which could affect the overall visual communication of the spread because the audience may not be able to connect the pictures to the university lifestyle.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

The piece could be mis-understood to be an article about student living at university because of the headline but the article is about the images I had taken and not much to do with student living at all. The audience could possibly be young photographers who are thinking of studying photography at university but want to see what its like before going or people who are interested in photography as thats the kind of magazine this article would be featured.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

To improve the piece I would alter the headline so that it is eye catching using a more interesting typeface so that it will catch the eye of the audience when looking through the magazine.

 2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

My time keep was poor as I kept leaving things to the last minute which didn’t help and also I should have done my research and initial ideas during the holidays instead of leaving it until I got back to work to start. I believe my time keeping is one of the key things that I need to improve on for the next brief and piece of work as that piece is only a week long so time keeping is a must.

How was my analysis of the brief?

My analysis of the brief was good as I chose an interesting environment different to most other people as it didn’t have anything to do with an physical environment. My final designs met the brief well informing the audience about the relevant information about the reasons i took the photos; however I could have added more text onto the article about the photos taken as well a more relevant sell.

How was my research?

My research was relevant to the brief as well as magazine design; I evaluated multiple magazine layouts as well as researching relevant sources of information about documentary photography. To improve my research I could have done some in-depth research into some photographers who use this style and also more research into grids.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

From my research of my environment and magazine layout I decided to have an image cover one of the pages in the double page spread using the golden third approach as well as have the sell and text of the article be the height on both the pages which I saw in multiple magazine spreads to add structure and similarity .

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

For experimentation there wasn’t much, however I did choose a different type of environment which made the topic more interesting and changed what I had to take pictures of as opposed to a park or forest.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

From my research and the process of how I created the piece help me show how I am achieving the learning outcomes as it helps explain the reasons for the positioning and choices that I have done during this brief. To improve on this next time I will add these to my initial idea and development phases to help achieve the learning outcomes more.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most and least? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed the most was the photography because I could take multiple images from all different angles and get different effects as well as altering the images on Photoshop.

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?

I found the research difficult when I had to research magazine layouts because if found that all the magazines looked similar and so took inspiration from them but I found it boring as there were not many magazines that stood out. It was also hard to research documentary photography.

Do I need to develop certain skills? Do I need these now? Or later?

I think I need to improve my software skills especially Photoshop and Indesign so that I won’t need as much help and can work more independently, these skills can be improved upon now so that I won’t struggle when achieving other briefs and learning outcomes.

Leave a Reply

