CD Case insert design process

For the Cd insert I wanted to to design a coin with daft punk on one side and Deadmau5 on the other, however this design that I had planned wouldn’t really work because it doesn’t exactly link to the genre and isn’t really identifiable to be linked towards the genre. After some research and more sketching I decided to create a poster with the names of the top 40 artists form the genre, this will appeal to people who listen to dance and electronic music as well as giving them a list of other artists that they could listen to, I also made added to the album an indication that it was volume 1 of a set which would eventually feature all the names on the poster. For the poster I want it to be folded into the inside cover of the album so it will be printed on the thinest glossy card/paper that I can find. For the poster I wanted to look similar to the album itself using the black and white, with black being the background colour. To create the poster I began by using the pen tool and was able to draw around the stencil I made of the Daft Punk and Deadmau5 fonts that I used on the front cover of the Cd cover.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 15.57.40

 

I wanted to make sure that the font was easy to read and so didn’t follow all the small details as they would have been lost when the poster will be printed out on A3. After placing the first few names from other artists,some with their logos integrated to create the outside of the poster like a jigsaw and working my way in. I couldn’t use a grid to create the poster because all the different fonts and logos were all to different and so a grid wouldn’t have been usable because of the different shapes and sizes.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 16.05.54

After collecting all the different artists names I repeated the process of using the pent tool tracing the original font. Some of the fonts were difficult to trace because of the complexity of the icon or font. I used guides to make sure that the text didn’t get too close to the edges so that it wasn’t lost when printing.

Screen Shot 2013-12-10 at 16.06.47

 

 

Leave a Reply

