Evaluation and Reflection

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

I looked at multiple different source of inspiration from different countries currency as well as looking at the old and new British currency to get an idea of how currency is changing as well as the security features that are integrated into the notes to prevent counterfeiting. Modernising the notes to be future designs was one of the briefs points and so designing the notes for 20 years in the future meant I could look at other people’s interpretations on what they thought currency would be like be it through movies and props.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I feel that the finished piece is not quite to the level of detail I would have liked; reductionism was one of the key factors I kept in mind but I believe that the final designs would have looked better when printed and foiled but on a screen they didn’t look as effective. There isn’t much linking the UK to the notes apart from the coat of arms which features imagery from the relating regions.

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

Experimental finishes of the foiled areas and the use of white space has been very important to the overall look of my work because the white area contrasted the hexagonal areas as well as the foiled areas which stood out against colours used on the notes with the modern design.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

The colours aren’t very mixed on each note which differentiates the notes but I think I could have added more imagery relating to the countries in the UK; but when designing for the future is difficult because in 2o years there could be no UK or a different ruler which means different imagery.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

The audiences are generally younger (twenties/thirties) though the audience extends in both directions, he has worked for brands such as Nike and Pepsi with clean logos and a street appeal, this is the style I have gone for. I think it is clear from my work what he is all about and they would struggle to misinterpret the information (the logo was chosen from a set by people from within his audience and was clearly the favourite)

The target audience are the British public who have to use the currency every day as well as tourists who visit the UK. I don’t think money can be misunderstood for anything else and the text is all created so that it is clear and presentable for the audience. The target audience will find the  notes different because of the altered shape.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

To develop the piece I would add more detail to the hexagons with different patterns and shapes using the hexagons clipping masked with the white as a background. I wanted to add a watermark to the note, however when printing this would be difficult to produce because it had to be invisible from both sides and when held up to the light is visible.

How was my time keeping?

My time keeping was good because I got all the notes done front and back but I could have made more time for the PDFs because I feel as if they are the thing that will reduce my grade because they are quite poor in my opinion.

How was my research?

For my research I looked at multiple sources as well as the security options that were integrated into the designs to prevent counterfeiting which is a main feature that is used on notes.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I looked at new and old currency as well as from different countries to look at how currency is evolving as well as what layouts are used.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

Looking at different currencies as well as modern film and futuristic designs helped me look at layouts and shapes that can be used as well as a presentation where an audience commented on my initial ideas and told me how to develop and improve my ideas.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

Getting feedback from outside sources as well as looking back at the brief helped me keep to the brief as well as develop my currency.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I wanted to use foiling which I experimented with and it worked well but it could have been more effective with more use. I also wanted to integrate a watermark into the designs and researched ways of adding this to my design, however it required specific tools which were not available.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I worked hard with the imagery and typography and using the correct terminology, throughout my blog as well as looking into different processes which increased the scope of my knowledge of printing.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed researching futuristic currency because it meant I could watch Sci-fi films such as District 9 and the new Total Recall.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

The stress of trying to add other colours to the designs because of the hexagonal grid I made meant that there were difficulties in making colours mix when they stoop out too much against the white and different shapes.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

I worked well most of the time but I think I should at the beginning of the Brief I should make a schedule and try to keep to it. 

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

I found the security features interesting to integrate into the design because of the processes such as the foiling and data matrixing.

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?

I found time management difficult as well as using Indesign as its been a while since I last used it.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Increasing my use of Indesign will increase my skills.

Leave a Reply

