Yashida Industries Logo Creation

For the company logo I began by scanning in the initial sketch of the logo that I had sketched out as a base and began by creating the imagery of the logo by creating a rectangle for the main column in black and then began creating the rest of the logo by copy and pasting the same rectangle using the rotate/reflect tool to create the logo, I also used the ruler and guides tools to make sure that the logo was symmetrical without any clear signs that there were pieces that were is aligned.

Screen Shot 2014-05-14 at 15.24.52 After completing the imagery for the logo I began by looking for Japanese/calligraphy styled fonts, however I couldn’t find any that were not over the top that they were designed as a joke/stereotype. After looking at multiple different fonts on DaFont.com I remembered that there was as typeface that I used on a previous project that if I remembered correctly would work well and be semiotically identifiable to Japan because of the structure of the composition of the characters.

Screen Shot 2014-05-14 at 16.07.13

After finding the font and comparing it to the logo it was a good match, especially because the Y, T and I all look similar to the logo that I had created, which was a unintentional. After creating the logo I placed the typefaces at the top after getting feedback from multiple people of multiple different designs of the logo. I also altered the kerning between the letters to make sure that the wording on the logo was easy to read when it was made smaller and when its larger on different sources.

Screen Shot 2014-05-14 at 16.16.17

Leave a Reply

