Evaluation and Reflection

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

I looked at multiple different source of inspiration from different parts of the Japanese culture and used inspiration from that including parts of the Shinto religion, calligraphy and the Japanese language, which I incorporated into design so that I could communicate the visual message that this is a Japanese Alcohol because of the imagery featured on labels and box. The use of the Shinto gate and the name of the sake which is the Shinto deity communicate that it is relating to the traditional Japanese religion and culture.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I feel that the finished piece is not quite to the level of detail I would have liked because the foils didn’t work out as well as I would have liked because the text on the box is lost unless looked at a specific angle, however this is one of the first times that I have used foils but I would have liked the foiling to have had a better result. 

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

Experimental finishes of the foiled areas on the box are on the strengths of my visual communication because it relates to the gold flakes in the sake which is the Sun Goddesses rays of sunlight as it is written in the Shinto teachings. I made sure that the fonts used were easily read and related to the imagery (the font used on the Yashida logo is aesthetically pleasing). Shinto gates are easily distinguishable as being Japanese over Chinese, which was one of my concerns that people couldn’t tell the difference but I believe I have achieved this through my feedback.

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

My weakest part would be the foiling on the box,however it is only because the gold foiling didn’t work that well which would hinder the readability of the imagery on the box.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

The audience is 18+ people who drink alcohol and want a different type of alcohol and so try Japanese sake. The sake could be misunderstood to be Chinese if the audience didn’t know the difference between the two, but they probably wouldn’t be buying an unknown alcohol. The gold foiling could  be misread, however that is only because the foiling process didn’t come out as well as I had hoped.

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

I would develop the product by improving and developing my skill at using gold foils so that I could have made the full image come out instead of the images that I created that had some gaps and inconsistencies.

How was my time keeping?

My time keeping on this project was good  because although there were a few set backs (smaller box because of printing issues and foiling), however apart from that I kept to a good schedule and kept my blog updated as well as writing my methodology.

How was my research?

My research began with a mind map of Japanese culture as well as other mind maps and for each branch of the mind map I researched in-depth, which influenced my design progress and increased my knowledge of Japanese culture and its language.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

From my research I found out about the Japanese language, which helped me with my calligraphy as well as the research into the Shinto religion and the architecture.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

From my research I was able to generate the Yashida Industries label using the Japanese characters that I had learnt when researching and learning the Japanese language. The Shinto religion added to the imagery of the Shinto gate and rising sun as well as the name for the sake.

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

Getting feedback from outside sources as well as looking back at the brief helped me keep to the learning outcomes as well as develop the design and keeping to my schedule.

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I wanted to use foiling which I experimented with and it worked well but it could have been more effective with more use. I also experimented by using clear plastic for the labels on the bottle, which I’m really happy with how they came out.

In what ways did I show that I had achieved the Learning Outcomes? How can I improve this next time?

I worked hard with the imagery and typography and using the correct terminology, throughout my blog as well as looking into different processes which increased the scope of my knowledge of printing and the Japanese culture.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed researching the Japanese culture including the language, which I’m thinking of continuing to learn Japanese as well as my Anime and Manga research.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

The part of the project I liked the least was the printing of the box because I had to compromise and print the box at half-size because of printing issues.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

I worked well most of the time but I think I should at the beginning of the Brief I fell behind in my schedule but I caught up. I worked well on all sections, however looking on WordPress and seeing how far other people were which when they were ahead motivated my to try to continue posting so that I was ahead of them. 

What areas inspired me? Why was this the case? How could I follow these up?

I found that researching calligraphy and the Japanese language inspire me to try to learn the techniques to produce my own as well as learning the Japanese language which has inspired me to learn Japanese.

What areas were challenging or difficult?  Why was this the case?

I found the gold foiling the most challenging part of the project because I thought it would be easy, but there is a skill to foiling so that you can make sure that the every part of the gold sticks and there aren’t any pieces missing.

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Improve my skill of foiling.

Leave a Reply

