Gorgon Logo and Development

The gorgon was the more difficult of the tree logos to be created because I needed to improve my ability to sketch and draw faces as well as being able to draw and create snakes that were well drawn so that they could be instantly identifiable as a snake, but also making sure that it didn’t look cartoonish even though its a vector logo.

I began by finding images of a side on view of women that I was going to add snakes to the hair; the choice of a female face instead of a male is because of the only gorgon that people are familiar with is Medusa.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 13.18.54

 

I began by creating the face with the pen tool and then tracing different images of the same type of snake (Bush Viper) to create the snake hair, however when I got this far I decided against continuing this design and went back to the drawing board.

I found another image of a woman’s face from the front and then using the clipping mask tool created the hair using images of Boa Constrictors. I also decided against the red eyes because this made the design seem too cartoonish and I wanted to keep it serious.

Screen Shot 2014-12-04 at 14.18.08

Here is the design that I created which I’m happy with because I think that the design will work well in the helmet because the background colour will fill in the white areas.

Leave a Reply

