Template Experimentation

Once I had finished the logos I began by searching the internet for different templates that I could use to present with the team name and logo; I would have found a website where I could have the logos fabricated onto helmets and sent to me to photograph, however this would have been highly expensive because of the cost of an individual helmet let alone 3.

I started to collect different free templates that looked realistic with shading and areas where light sources have hit the helmet. Size of the templates was another factor that I had to keep in mind because I wanted the logos to be presented as posters of the teams.

The best resource that I could find with realistic templates was found on Deviant Art were created by Fraser Davidson.

http://rezland.deviantart.com/gallery/

or

http://www.fraserdavidson.co.uk/).

 

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 13.51.47

I first found these templates first and considered using these to present the logos as well as the uniforms of the teams that I have created, however the background of the image couldn’t be used on a poster because I would have to either remove the background or expand it so that it could cover the whole poster. When presenting the logos in this template they will be harder to see when placed onto the kit and onto the side of the helmet, however this template does let me show the full colours of the team.

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 13.51.57

 

Another template created by Fraser Davidson was this featuring two players from opposing teams which could be used to advertise any games that were to be played in the future, however the logos of the teams are lost when presented on the sides of the helmets. The background is also another aspect of the design that has to be taken into consideration because the background limits the space for other information to be added.

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 13.52.18

 

This template showcases another helmet from three different angles, which will work well to present the logo and any helmet details that have been added. This design is a good starting point for a poster because I would be able to pick and choose which angle the helmet will be presented, however the image of the back of the helmet wouldn’t be used so much. I think that a template of a helmet at a sight angle would be the best template because it can showcase the logo as well as the face guard and any imagery that is added to the helmet.

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 13.52.40

 

The Final template that I have found and used was is this which features a close up image of the helmet at an angle with shading and reflections. The template is large enough so that the logos can be presented clearly and can be used as the main part of a poster to showcase the team. I’m going to use this helmet because I think it will be the best template to present the logos as well as being able to altering the colours to present the team colours.

Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 13.52.54

Leave a Reply

