Evaluation and Reflection

1) Visual Communication:

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece meet the needs of the brief?

The brief was very open to interpretation. We needed to make design that can be engaging and generate an emotional response and create an experience. I chose to create interactive piece of packaging that will be interactive and interest the audience. The Packaging has to be eye-catching and get children to want to try the sushi. The packaging was made in two parts which increases the interaction between the child and the packaging and convey the and interesting aesthetic for the child.

In what ways does the visual communication/message of the piece fail to meet the needs of the brief?

I think that it addresses the brief really well, if I had more time I would have liked to have created the comic strip and fabricated the vacuum formed insert. 

What are the strengths of the visual communication? Why?

It has strong signifiers because of the bright colours that will stand out on a shelf and features the sushi on the sleeve which is the main imagery of the piece. The name and typography were created to communicate what the product was and to stand out against the colours on the packaging. 

What are the weaknesses of the visual communication? Why?

I feel that the back of the sleeve could have done more with to increase the aesthetic and include more key information such as the company name.

In what ways could the piece be mis-read or mis-understood by the audience? Be specific about who the audience is.

I identified my audience in my research as being children of a specific age range and tested my sushi characters on a class of children within the age group, however the project could be mis-understood as a toy from first glance, however when the child looks at the back they will understand because of the ingredients and nutritional chart. 

In what practical ways could the piece be developed or improved?

Multiple prototypes of the sleeve and box could have meant that they could have had a better fit with a thinner border and a deeper compartment.

2) Reflection of own working practices:

How was my time keeping?

Because the dissertation was in for the dame day as well as having to not only design and create the products but design 4 boards for the Design factory I feel that I was stretched for time on all my projects and had to work quite a few late nights/ early mornings.

How was my analysis of the brief?

Creating a the first board around the exhibition and then the next three boards were around my project I found difficult because I kept having to go back and check that the ideology of the exhibition and the user interface were in my piece.

How was my research?

I found my research enjoyable because I could research another aspect of Japanese culture that I hadn’t looked at before and I enjoy packaging design because I find it interesting what different types of packaging that interact with user. Also I hadn’t done a project aimed towards children so It was fun to have a younger target audience and find out what they would want through the research of Japanese children’s cartoons and western cartoons.

How did I draw conclusions from my research?

I used my research to inform me about the audience for the piece and I  blogged my research and the ideas that started forming early on are as a direct result of my research.

How did I use research to generate and develop ideas?

My research did help me generate ideas that developed into my final piece because I researched Japanese packaging which influenced my ideas and brought the Japanese aesthetic of ‘Cute’ packaging which really made the packaging. 

How did I use evaluations to help with my ideas generation and development?

Evaluating as I went on the blog and looking on others blogs to see where they were and tried to keep over take them helped me keep on track and make sure every step I took was a step forward. This was important as I did not have days to waste on doing nothing productive

How did I use experimentation during the project? How can I make this more effective?

I experimented with the packaging and how the overall shape of the piece was going to be created, vacuum forming an insert, I think i could have increased my experimentation by looking into foiling on the packaging to make the imagery and text stand out more.

What parts of the project did I enjoy most? Why was this the case?

I enjoyed the research of Japanese packaging and the ‘cute’ design because it was a part of graphic and product design that I had not looked into and found it really interesting because of all the techniques new and old that were used for packaging.

What parts of the project did I enjoy least? Why was this the case?

Under the pressure of handing in a finished piece the boards and the dissertation bound and presented all on time was stressful because towards the end of the project the workload began to mount up.

At what times did I work best? Why might this be the case? How can I ensure that I work well at all times?

Handing in wha feels like 3 projects at once would have meant the stress would have been gone so knowing that the harder that I worked would mean the quicker that these pieces are completed and handed in, even though I did enjoy the brief.

What areas were challenging or difficult? Why was this the case?

Time management and understanding the brief were the main difficulties because time management was one of the main aspects to this project because of the dissertation that had to be handed in for the same day and I had to look back and the brief to make sure i hand come off track

How can I go about developing and improving the parts I found difficult?

Creating a for me to work to would improve my timekeeping and more prototyping would have helped too for the nets of the boxes.

Leave a Reply

